NEED Board of Directors & Staff

Board of Directors


Wayne Yonkelowitz, Educator (ret), Chairman
John Weiner, U.S. Energy Information Administration (ret), Secretary
Diane Lear, National Hydropower Association, Treasurer


Lauren Allen, Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) Government of the District of Columbia
Leigh V. Grantham, VP, Member Services & Communications PowerSouth Energy Cooperative
Claudia Kreisle, Phillips 66
Mark Sartain, VP, Nuclear Engineering & Fleet Support Dominion Resources Services, Inc
Carrie Annand, VP, External Affairs Biomass Power Association
John Dabbar, VP, Government Affairs ConocoPhillips
Maggie Downey, Administrator Cape Light Compact, JPE
Reta White, Senior Civil Dam Safety Engineer, Exelon Generation
Steve Solomon, VP, Corporate Relations, Exelon

Honorary Board Members and Former Chairmen

Paula Barnett, BP
Constance Beatty, Kennedy Middle Grade School, Kankakee, IL
Guy Caruso, U.S. Energy Information Administration (ret)
Phil Cochrane, BP
Leslie Eden, PennWell
Kevin Galligan, Galligan Energy Consulting
Paul Loeffelman, American Electric Power
Randall Luthi, State of Wyoming
Maurice Royster, Equitable Resources
Barry Russell, Independent Petroleum Association of America
H. Alfred Ryan, Exelon (ret)
Cristina Jorge Schwarz, Professional Geologist
Bob Stewart, National Ocean Industries Association (ret)
Henry Sullivan, American Electric Power (ret)
Wendy Wiedenbeck, Interstate Restoration
Rick Zuercher, Dominion


National Staff

Mary Spruill, Executive Director

Emily Hawbaker, Curriculum Director

Caryn Turrel, Curriculum and Training Associate

Vernon Kimball, Curriculum and Training Associate

Cindy Welchko, Curriculum Associate

Rebecca Lamb, Program Director

Barry Scott, State Program Director, California

Wendi Moss, Program and Training Coordinator

Joe Lazarony, Program Assistant

Melanie Harper, Program Associate

Amy Constant Schott, Program Associate

Kim Moats-Barnes, Program Associate

Karen Reagor, Training Associate

Todd Rogers, Training Associate

Kimberly Swan, Outreach and Evaluation Coordinator

Luis Cavero, Graphic Designer

Sandy Harben, Accounting and Office Administration

Cindy Foster, NEED Distribution Center

Rick Hall, NEED Distribution Center

Melissa Spencer, NEED Distribution Center

Bonny Spruill, NEED Distribution Center

David Keene, General Counsel

NEED Staff performing a battery experiment